Gunwalker Update: Katie Pavlich on Obama’s Lies and Coverup of Fast and Furious

Posted: October 3, 2012 by ShortTimer in Department of Justice, Eric Holder, Government, Guns, Journalism, Obama administration, Operation Gunwalker, Second Amendment, United States Congress
Tags: , ,

Hey Katie, those “small bloggers” are Mike Vanderboegh of Sipsey Street Irregulars and David Codrea of Examiner.com.  You’d do well to name them and give them the credit they’re due.

Noteworthy that around the 7:30 mark she mentions White House security advisor O’Reilly who had direct communication from ATF SAC Phoenix Bill Newell and how O’Reilly was sent to Iraq to be hidden by the White House from congressional investigators.  Cam Edwards of Cam & Company, subbing in for Andrew Wilkow, noted today that O’Reilly is no longer in Iraq, but the State Dept. won’t say where he is.  The State Dept. also sent O’Reilly to Iraq to fill a position that was already filled, to the point the original guy’s family was already in Iraq.

Update – CNS news notes that here:

“O’Reilly’s sudden transfer to Baghdad occurred just days after the aforementioned e-mails with William Newell were produced to the Committee and Newell testified about them before Congress,” Issa and Grassley wrote. “Additionally, we have learned that O’Reilly took the place of a previously selected individual—and individual who had gone through a competitive application process and thorough vetting process, had the necessary qualifications, and whose spouse was already in Baghdad in anticipation of the individual’s arrival—to serve as the head of the Police Development Program.”

A State Department official told CNSNews.com last week that O’Reilly was no longer assigned to Iraq and is now between assignments—but would not say what O’Reilly’s next assignment is.

“I can confirm that he [Kevin O’Reilly] is no longer in Iraq but he has not yet started in his next position,” said a State Department official. “So, I can’t confirm what that position is. I just don’t have any information on that right now, what his next position will be or when he will be starting.”

Comments
  1. Hey there,

    This is Katie Pavlich and I give Mike and David credit all the time, in fact, I did in this speech.

    • ShortTimer says:

      Howdy, Katie!

      I may just be a tiny part-time blogger (with a full-time job that makes me very, very interested in F&F and its outcome, moreso than most), but I strive to make sure I can stand by pretty much anything I write, and if I write something incorrect, I’ll own up to it. I just watched the video a second time to make sure I didn’t miss anything, and I didn’t hear their names brought up the second time, either. You brought up small bloggers around the 1 minute mark, but didn’t name them. If there was an edit by the videographer that removed you naming them, or I somehow managed to miss something in plain sight (well, hearing), I’ll retract that comment, this comment, note it above, and note it from then on when I write about any of y’all’s work. And if that’s the case, disregard the next paragraph.

      One big reason I say you’d do well to give them their due is that it motivates people to do more citizen journo legwork when they get credit – I’m sure you liked getting acknowledged for your work throughout this – and I’m aware other folks have noted that issue in the past (negatively by Ms. Evans), and David Codrea addressed it as well noting the credit you have given at one point. Since getting F&F out there and getting justice for Terry, Zapata, and hundreds of others is the priority, it shouldn’t be too much to credit those doing a lot of unseen work.

      Thanks for being so tenacious on this story. It’s good to see somebody practicing actual journalism and doing the right thing.

      ETA: I’ll add that you taking the time to comment here and address it does speak well of you.

Leave a Reply

