Political Speechwriter Begs For Tyranny

Posted: January 21, 2013 by ShortTimer in Government, Guns, Health care, Second Amendment, Tyranny
Tags:

From the New York Times – Please Take Away My Right to a Gun:

My depression appeared for the first time in the late ’90s, right before I began writing for politicians. It comes and goes like fog. Medicine can help. I have my tricks to manage and get through it. Sometimes it sticks around for a day or a week, and sometimes it stays away for a couple of years. But it never leads me to sleep all day, cry and wear sweat pants like the people in the commercials. You’d look at me and never know that sometimes my fight against the urge to die is so tough the only way I get through it is second by second; I live by the second hand.

But since most people like me are more likely to harm ourselves than to turn into mass-murdering monsters, our leaders should do more to keep us safe from ourselves.

Please take away my Second Amendment right. Do more to help us protect ourselves because what’s most likely to wake me in the early hours isn’t a man’s body slamming at my door but depression, that raven, tapping, rapping, banging for relief.

I have a better chance of surviving if I never have the option of being able to pull the trigger.

Sorry, Wendy, but your poor life choices don’t dictate that my sister has to be disarmed and fistfight your rapist.

Wendy starts off her story by saying that she lived in DC, had a break-in, and survived because the police actually responded in time.  That she didn’t end up like Carolyn Warren means she thinks that everyone should end up like Carolyn Warren:

Believing the police might be in the house, Warren and Taliaferro called down to Douglas, thereby alerting Kent to their presence. Kent and Morse then forced all three women, at knifepoint, to accompany them to Kent’s apartment. For the next fourteen hours the women were held captive, raped, robbed, beaten, forced to commit sexual acts upon each other, and made to submit to the sexual demands of Kent and Morse.

But because Wendy has depression, she thinks Warren and Taliaferro and Douglas should all be violated at knifepoint; and she thinks that the public should be disarmed because she’s incompetent.

Please take away my Second Amendment right. Do more to help us protect ourselves

The very first comment at the story nails it:

ColCrockett New York City

Well this piece fits right in with the whole cultural movement that involves eliminating all individual responsibility. “I don’t want to have to make my own decisions so the government has to.” Take responsibility for your own actions. Though you may have depression which can lead to suicidal thoughts, don’t buy the firearm. It’s as simple as that. All of our current issues arise from the fact that no one is willing to take responsibility for their own actions. It’s ideology like that expressed in this op-ed that harms our nation.

And the very second comment gives the emotional, foolish response of someone who isn’t fit to run their own affairs – so they decide that because they’re incompetent, they should run everyone elses.

From what do I need protection?

Myself.

It upsets me deeply that the NRA is fighting so hard to protect my right to be armed. They are more dangerous to me (and others) than I could possibly be to myself. More than a constitutional right to bear arms we need a constitutional right to live safely.

Then you should be locked away.  The ACLU fought to keep you out of an institution.  You should be angry at them.  The NRA is keeping your government from turning into a tyranny that does decide it’s best for you.

I am beginning to understand how intense the seething contempt Sam Adams must have been feeling about these groveling sheep when he said:

If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace.  We ask not your counsels or your arms.  Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you.  May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that you were our countrymen.

As to the point of suicide, Japan has virtually no access to guns, yet Japan has one of the highest suicide rates in the world.  Guns aren’t the problem.

I empathize with and support anyone who says “I don’t think I personally should own one due to my depression.”  I hope you get treatment, have a strong support system, and do better for yourself.  Clinical therapists usually have to do several hundred if not thousands of hours of free services during their licensing process, so there’s always free therapy around.  There are people who want to take care of you, because your life is valuable.  Dr. Jenn lists a bunch of places to go for help right here.  If you need it, it’s there.  There’s no lack of empathy or love in the world.

Now, if you demand that the rights of 300 million other Americans be destroyed, ultimately enabling tyranny and oppression that will get progressively worse as years roll by, and all because you can’t manage your life, then I have nothing pleasant to say to you.  You are denigrating others and demanding they be trampled by the state – a state composed of people just as flawed as you or anyone else – because you can’t handle your own life.  Your own failings turn into a demand that the state take care of you, lord over you, and drive your life.  You beg for tyranny.  If you are in such a miserable condition that you want a faceless, powerful bureaucrat to rule over you… well… then pick up that can

pick up that can half life

Leave a Reply

