Obama’s Official Message to Federal Employees: Basically It’s The Republicans’ Fault

Posted: October 4, 2013 by ShortTimer in Barack Obama, Government, Obama administration, Politics, Republican, United States Congress
Tags:

Obama has no desire for negotation in the budget debate, only capitulation by the House Republicans. In not so many words, blaming the House, he spells it all out as the Republican’s fault to government employees in this government-wide email:

Shutdown Message 1a

Shutdown Message 2a

PDF Version here: Message_from_the_President_to_U.S._Government_Employees

Interpreted/translated:

Lip service.

Big government is big.

…Congress has failed to meet its responsibility to pass a budget before the fiscal year that begins today.

I want you to know that I will keep working to get Congress to reopen the Government, restart vital services that the American people depend on, and allow public servants who have been sent home to return to work.  At my direction, your agencies should have reached out to you by now about what a shutdown means for you and your families.

It’s all Congress’s fault.  I will do everything good, they do everything bad.  The services shut down are all their fault.  I will protect you and your family.

Lip service lip service.

You do all this in a political climate that, too often in recent years, has treated you like a punching bag.  You have endured three years of a Federal pay freeze, harmful sequester cuts, and now, a shutdown of our Government.  …

None of this is fair to you.  …

Blame blame blame, you’re a victim of Congress.  Blame blame blame, sequester was mine and Jack Lew’s idea, but I’ll blame Congress again; shutdown is because I won’t negotiate and accept individual spending bills, but I’ll blame them.

Lip service lip service, big government good!  Lip service.

Quoting another president to seem non-partisan, setting up for the next “House Republicans are to blame”.

This shutdown was completely preventable.  It should not have happened.  And the House of Representatives can end it as soon as it follows the Senate’s lead, and funds your work in the United States Government without trying to attach highly controversial and partisan measures in the process.

It’s Congress’ and the Republicans’ fault.  Senate good, Congress bad.  It’s partisan to represent your constituents.  People who oppose any part of government oppose all of government.

Lip service.

And I will continue to do everything in my power to get the House of Representatives to allow the Government to reopen as quickly as possible, and make sure you receive the pay that you have earned.

Me I me I me I.  I will do this for you.  Trust in me.  Republicans in Congress did this to you, I will save you.

Lip service for your service.

Comments
  1. President Obama’s philosophy toward his followers comes from the US Navy:

    “Keep it simple stupid.”

    I think Bill Clinton was guided to success by that little nostrum as well.

  2. That’s odd, I was under the impression that the budget was to be submitted to congress by the POTUS. How stupid of me, I have been blaming Obummer all these years. (SARC)

Leave a Reply

